May 13, 2016

Bund SOHO, winner of China Best Tall Building Overall Award

The inaugural CITAB-CTBUH China Tall Building Awards were held at Shanghai Tower on May 13, the culmination of more than a year’s worth of planning. More than 400 were in attendance for the symposium, ceremony and dinner, which took place in the 5th-floor Garden Ballroom of the recently completed Shanghai Tower.

At the dinner, the CITAB-CTBUH China Tall Building Awards Jury announced the winner of the inaugural China Best Tall Building Overall Award: Bund SOHO, Shanghai. The final decision was the result of a juried selection process considering more than 90 entries from around the country. In February, the China Tall Building Awards Jury named four Excellence Award recipients: The Asia Pacific Tower & Jinling Hotel, Nanjing; Bund SOHO, Shanghai; Hongkou SOHO, Shanghai; and Wangjing SOHO, Beijing.

Senior representatives of each of the Excellence Awardees gave presentations at the Awards Symposium at Shanghai Tower, with the jury convening immediately afterwards to determine an overall winner. Jury Chair Chunhua Song, former vice minister of the Chinese Ministry of Housing and Urban-Rural Development (MOHURD), then had the honor of awarding the title of overall “China Best Tall Building” to Bund SOHO.

Chunhua Song, jury chair, announces the China Best Tall Building Overall Award winner.

Chunhua Song, Jury Chair, announces the China Best Tall Building Overall Award winner.

China Awards Jury Chair Song characterized the process of selecting the inaugural Best Tall Building winner, “The decision was unanimous, but carefully considered. The consensus was that Bund SOHO adapted well to a challenging site, demonstrated a respect for local history, and was well-detailed, using warm-colored materials that coincided with the community.

“The Awards Jury commented, “Bund SOHO resolves a difficult site, historic surroundings, the requirements of the modern office building, and the responsibility of a high-profile waterfront location in Shanghai with a reserved distinction. It is like a ship’s prow, pushing the frontier forward of the established central Bund into new, uncharted territories, with visible confidence. There are discernible shades of Raymond Hood’s work at Rockefeller Center, New York and nods to the Art-Deco predecessors on the Bund, as well as to the existing grain of the neighborhood. Nevertheless, a project of unique qualities has been rendered here.”

Stephan Rewolle, Associate Partner, von Gerkan, Marg and Partners Architects, accepting the award for Bund SOHO, said, “I want to congratulate the organizers for this very professional and very great event. Secondly I want to thank our clients SOHO China for making this possible. You have been a really great client and it’s been inspiring work. I want to thank ECADI as being a good partner. And of course I want to thank my team in Beijing, I think you did a really good job.”

Caption1

Stephan Rewolle(L), Associate Partner, von Gerkan, Marg and Partners Architects accepting the award for Bund SOHO; Right: Remo Riva(R), Design Director of P&T Group presenting on Asia Pacific Tower and Jinling Hotel

The audience also heard from three other China Best Tall Building Excellence Award and two Honorable Distinction recipients. Remo Riva, Design Director of P&T Group, described how both the original design and the new addition to the Asia Pacific Tower and Jinling Hotel were inspired by auspicious shapes in Chinese culture, such as the octagon, by contemporary feng shui requirements, and by local landmarks in Nanjing, such as the memorial to the founder of the Chinese Republic, Sun Yat Sen.

Representing Hongkou SOHO, Shanghai, Wansheng Wang, Vice President, Tongji Architectural Design Institute (TJAD) described how the distinctive project was essentially a case of façade design, because the initial plan shape had already been set before SOHO acquired the project.

“The proportion of the design was not perfect, so how could we make it more elegant?” Wang said. “We had to make something like a Phoenix from an ordinary bird.”

Caption2

Wansheng Wang(L), Vice President, Tongji Architectural Design Institute presenting on Hongkou SOHO; Right: Yu Zhang(R), Vice President of Design, CCDI Group accepted award for Wangjing SOHO

A particularly distinctive work of proportion and shape could be found at Wangjing SOHO, Beijing, represented by Eugene Leung, Lead Designer, Zaha Hadid Architects, and Yu Zhang, Vice President of Design, CCDI Group. The unusual pill-and-fish-shaped structures, which many consider a “futuristic” look, were so technically demanding that they required an approach that recalled an earlier time when architectural design and engineering were the same discipline, Zhang said.

“There is no real division of the brain,” Zhang said. “A binary analysis of an issue causes us to forget the fundamental reason we want to do something in the first place. Every day there were a lot of drawings and practical issues, and environmental concern about the project. We were always considering constructability and choice of technologies.”

The audience also learned about the detailing behind the wildly different, if equally fascinating facades of the Jiangxi Nanchang Greenland Center twin towers in Nanchang and the People’s Daily New Headquarters, Beijing. Yue Zhu, Associate Director at SOM, described how the sophisticated use of cold-bent glass on the Nanchang duo required not only extensive computer modeling of bending tolerances for glass and the steel support structure, but even the properties of the glue that would keep the double layers of glass intact under stress. Prof. Qi Zhou of Southeast University School of Architecture detailed the decision process for the distinctively curved building, which involved studying material properties for more than a year. In the end, the curved shape was anything but arbitrary, providing good wind resistance, maintaining an above average floor-area ratio for a Beijing office building, and “embedding novelty and surprise” into the building, which could be experienced from within and without.

In addition to the China Best Tall Building award, the China Tall Building Awards recognized and showcased projects in several other categories. Michael Greene accepted the China Urban Habitat Award for Jing An Kerry Centre, Shanghai, on behalf of architect KPF.

Caption3

Haiyan Qu(L), Deputy Chief Engineer of North Region accepted the Construction Award for Forum 66; Right: Michael Greene(R), Principal, KPF accepted the China Urban Habitat Award for Jing An Kerry Centre

Greene noted that the project, which manages the transition from the traditional neighborhood scale to the superblock scale through skilful manipulations of the pedestrian paths and building massing was inspired by the work of artist Sol LeWitt. Working at this scale, “forces the architect into the role of planner, and the developer into the role of a sort of urban caretaker,” Greene said.

Haiyan Qu, Deputy Chief Engineer of North Region, accepted the Construction Award (a category which is unique to China, and launched with this year’s awards) for Shenyang’s Forum 66, on behalf of China Construction Steel Structure Corporation. The 351-meter building, which slants continuously from top to bottom at 3.82 degrees from the vertical, is the world’s tallest building to have a tilt angle this steep. This required a number of techniques, such as enlarged connection bolts and a system of carefully timed welds to account for the structural elements expanding and contracting during construction in the harsh northeast China climate.

The China Tall Building Innovation Award winners, Mega-Suspended Curtain Wall, were in familiar territory – the innovation is the key to the Shanghai Tower’s graceful flowing, twisting shape. Dr. Zhijun He, Chief Engineer, Technology Development Department, TJAD and Xiaomei Lee, Vice President & Executive Director, Gensler accepted the award. Dr. He noted that the aerodynamics needed to keep the building safe in typhoon conditions necessitated the design as much as the brief to make it appear different from its “two sisters” in Lujiazui, Shanghai World Financial Center and Jin Mao Tower.

The awards not only recognize projects. Of course, there would be no projects without the efforts of extremely talented and hard-working people. The inaugural China Tall Building Outstanding Achievement award went to Dasui Wang, Chief Engineer of ECADI and China Design Master. Though his resume reads a like a list of nearly all the famous Chinese skyscrapers of the last 30 years, his modesty is the equal of any of his buildings in measuring his career.

Dasui Wang (R) accepts the outstanding achievement award from Wang Jun, Vice President, Architectural Society of China (L)

Dasui Wang (R) accepts the outstanding achievement award from Wang Jun, Vice President, Architectural Society of China (L)

“I am just a practitioner, a participant, a witness in the history of the industry,” Wang said. “I have learned much from my peers, and gotten a lot of support from partners.”

The awards symposium also took advantage of the industry-wide attendance to stage two discussion panels. One was comprised of architects behind two projects in the “Legacy Awards” category, which honors tall buildings constructed from the time of China’s economic opening to 2005. The audience heard from architects and engineers at the Guangzhou Design Institute (GDI), which designed the original and renovated versions of the White Swan Hotel, Guangzhou, and East China Architectural Design Institute (ECADI), which designed the original and renovated versions of the Huadong Electrical Power Distribution Building in Shanghai.

The second panel was comprised of developers, including Jianping Gu, General Manager of Shanghai Tower Construction & Development, Jerry Yin, Senior Vice President and Chief Architect of SOHO China Ltd., Jinwang Ding, General Manager, Jinling Hotel Corp., and Zhaohui Jia, Deputy Chief Architect, Greenland Group. Perhaps the most provocative statements of the panel were delivered by Gu, who, responded to a question about what advice he’d have for newcomers to the China tall building development market.

“The biggest challenge facing China is how to build fewer skyscrapers,” Gu said. “Even if you have money, you shouldn’t be too headstrong. There is no need to build such a tall building [as Shanghai Tower] in most first-, second-, third- or fourth-tier cities.” Gu, who in earlier remarks had frankly detailed the trials of bringing the project to life, went on to say that even within Shanghai, the namesake tower is sited at just about the only place it could be.

Based on the successful CTBUH worldwide tall buildings awards program, the CITAB-CTBUH China Tall Buildings Awards Program is a joint initiative of the Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat (CTBUH) and the China International Exchange Committee for Tall Buildings (CITAB), established in April 2015.

Each group appoints an equal number of members to the jury, which will judge projects submitted through the process described below. The culmination of the process is an Awards Ceremony and Dinner where the awards are bestowed, preceded by an afternoon Symposium, in which the year’s award recipients and a select number of Honorable Distinction recipients present their projects.

The CITAB-CTBUH China Tall Buildings Awards recognize projects and individuals that have made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of Chinese tall buildings and the urban environment, and that achieve sustainability at the highest and broadest level. Tall buildings can be polarizing presences in their cities, admired for their sheer height or skyline silhouettes, and criticized for their poor environmental performance and street-level experience. The object of this awards program is to provide a more comprehensive and sophisticated view of these important structures, while advocating for improvements in every aspect of performance, including those that have the most effect on the people who use these buildings each day.

2016年5月13日

外滩SOHO,中国最佳高层建筑奖得主

首届CITAB-CTBUH中国高层建筑奖活动于5月13日在上海中心举行,为一年多来的筹备划上了圆满句号。共有400多名与会者于近期完工的上海中心新近落成的上海中心五层花园礼堂参加了研讨会、颁奖典礼以及晚宴。

晚宴上,CITAB-CTBUH 中国高层建筑奖评审委员会宣布首届中国最佳高层建筑奖的得主是:外滩SOHO。经过对全国90多个参评中国高层建筑奖项目的评审,评委会作出了这一最终决定。去年二月,中国高层建筑奖评委会评选出四个中国高层建筑优秀奖:南京的金陵饭店亚太商务楼、上海的外滩SOHO、 上海的虹口SOHO、以及北京的望京SOHO

所有获得中国高层建筑优秀奖的高级项目代表在上海中心举办的颁奖研讨会上发表了演讲,之后即刻召开的评委会决定最终的中国最佳高层建筑奖。评委会主席,原中国建设部副部长宋春华为获得中国最佳高层建筑奖的项目代表颁奖。

中国高层建筑奖评委会主席宋春华部长阐述了对首届中国最佳高层建筑大奖得主的评审过程:“这一决定是经过深思熟虑的,评委一致通过的。我们达成了共识,外滩SOHO积极地回应了富有挑战的基地,表达了对于区域历史环境的尊重,同时细节处理上也很优秀,采用的暖色石材与周围比较协调。”

Chunhua Song, jury chair, announces the China Best Tall Building Overall Award winner.

宋春华,评委会主席,宣布中国最佳高层建筑奖得主

评委会如此评价该项目“外滩SOHO 解决了一个老大难的地块,这里处于历史环境中,又有对现代办公建筑的需求,还担负着保护上海这一片及为著名的滨水地区的责任。它就像一艘船的船头、满怀自信地将已有的外滩中心区域推向一个新的、未知的领域。外滩SOHO 很明显受到Raymond Hood的纽约洛克菲勒中心的影响,但他从周围的环境中汲取营养,向外滩的Art-Deco先驱们致意。尽管如此,这个项目还是在这里向我们呈现出其自身独特的风采”。

Stephan Rewolle德国GMP建筑事务所合伙人领取外滩SOHO奖,并说到“我要祝贺组织者,举办了这场非常专业、非常成功的活动。其次,我要感谢我们的客户SOHO中国,使这一切成为可能。非常优秀的客户,非常振奋人心的项目。感谢我们出色的工作伙伴,ECADI。当然,我还要感谢我在北京的团队,你们做得非常好。”

Caption1

Stephan Rewolle (左),德国GMP建筑事务所合伙人领取外滩SOHO所获奖;Remo Riva (右),巴马丹拿集团设计总监就金陵饭店亚太商务楼项目发言

另外三位中国高层建筑优秀奖代表与两位获得荣誉提名奖的代表也作了发言。Remo Riva巴马丹拿集团设计总监,介绍了金陵饭店亚太商务楼的原有设计与新的改建是如何从中国文化中的吉祥纹样(如八边形)中获得灵感,又是如何受当代风水要求与南京本地地标如孙中山(中华民国创始人)纪念堂的影响的。

同济建筑设计研究院副院长,王文胜先生介绍了位于上海的虹口SOHO这一独特的项目本质上是一个立面设计项目,因为最初的基地形状在SOHO获得该项目之前已经确定。

“这一设计的比例并不完美,怎样使得其更加优雅?”王说。“我们必须实现凤凰涅槃式的转变。”

Caption2

王文胜(左),同济建筑设计研究院副院长,介绍虹口SOHO张宇(右),CCDI集团设计副总裁,领取望京SOHO的奖项

正如扎哈•哈迪德建筑事务所首席设计师Eugene Leung与CCDI集团设计副总裁张宇所言,从望京SOHO项目上,关于比例与形态的出色工作得以体现。张宇表示,这一不同寻常的充满未来感的丸形-鱼形结构对技术提出了很高的需求,也要求建筑设计与工程设计在同一原则下工作,使人想起了早先的工作方式。

“其实并没有真正的大脑分工,”张说。“对问题的二分法的思考导致我们忘记最初意图。关于这一项目,每天都有许多绘图和实践工作,以及对于项目环境的关注。我们一直在考量施工能力和技术的选择。”

观众们也了解到江西南昌绿地中央广场双子塔与北京人民日报大厦这两个拥有同样惊艳的外表却又截然不同的两个项目背后的细节。SOM建筑设计事务所副总监朱岳介绍了在南昌项目上运用的冷弯玻璃技术的复杂性:不仅要求大量玻璃和金属支架弯曲公差的电脑模拟,甚至胶的成分也能保证双层玻璃在压力下的完整性。来自东南大学建筑学院的周琦教授详细介绍了这一独特的曲线建筑的决策过程,包括整整一年时间对于材料性能的研究。最终,曲线形状并非随意的,它有效减小了风的阻力,并保证其超过北京办公建筑平均水平的使用效率(得方率)。从内部和外部都能体验到,建筑“蕴含新奇和惊喜”。

除中国最佳高层建筑奖外,中国高层建筑奖还表彰并展示了其他若干奖项。Michael Greene代表KPF 建筑师事务所为上海静安嘉里中心项目领取了中国最佳高层建筑城市人居奖。

Caption3

瞿海雁(左),北方大区副总工程师,为市府恒隆广场项目领取了建造奖;Michael Greene (右),作为KPF 建筑师事务所的代表,为上海静安嘉里中心项目领取了中国最佳高层建筑城市人居奖

Greene指出,该项目受艺术家Sol LeWitt作品的启发,以极富技巧地操作行人路径与建筑体量,成功地将传统街区尺度转化成为超级街区尺度。如Greene所言,在这样的尺度下工作,“强迫建筑师进入规划师的角色,也使开发商进入一种城市关照者的角色”。

瞿海雁,北方大区副总工程师,代表中建钢构有限公司的为市府恒隆广场项目领取了建造奖(本年发起,仅限于中国)。这一高351米的建筑在垂直方向从上到下连续倾斜多达3.82度,是世界上有如此陡峭倾角的最高建筑。这需要大量技术支撑,如加大的连接螺栓,精确控时的焊接系统,出于对中国东北极端气候条件下施工中结构构件的膨胀和收缩的考虑。

中国高层建筑创新奖获奖者,巨型悬挂式幕墙,在熟悉的地盘上领取了这一奖项。这项创新是上海中心优雅的流线上升形状得以实现的关键。同济大学建筑设计研究院技术发展部的总工程师何志军博士以及Gensler事务所的副总裁兼执行董事李晓梅女士领取了奖项。何博士指出,台风气候下为了保证建筑安全,需要符合空气动力学的造型设计技术,直接带来了与周围陆家嘴的“两个姊妹”——上海环球金融中心和金茂大厦造型上的对比。

本届奖项的设置不仅仅局限在评选项目。诚然,没有出色和勤奋的参建者的努力就不会有这些项目,首届中国高层建筑杰出贡献奖授予了华东建筑设计总院总工程师和国家设计大师汪大绥先生。尽管他的经历几乎是近30年中国著名摩天大楼的概览,在衡量他的职业生涯时,其谦虚和其建筑成就达到了同样的高度。

“我只是高层建筑发展到这一历史阶段的参与者、实现者、见证者,”汪说,“我得到不同年龄段同事的大力协同和合作伙伴的通力协作。”

Dasui Wang (R) accepts the outstanding achievement award from Wang Jun, Vice President, Architectural Society of China (L)

汪大绥(右)接受中国建筑协会副会长王俊(左)颁发的中国高层建筑杰出贡献奖

颁奖典礼借由成功聚集整个行业的机会举办了两场嘉宾沙龙。第一场由获得建筑成就奖(用以表彰中国自经济开放至2005年以来建造的高层建筑)的两个项目背后的建筑师出席。听众聆听了广州市设计院和华东设计研究总院的建筑师和工程师们,分别对于广州白天鹅宾馆和上海华东电力分公司的最初建造和更新过程。

第二场沙龙由开发商出席,包括上海中心大厦建设发展有限公司总经理顾建平先生,SOHO中国公司高级副总裁兼首席建筑师阴杰先生,金陵饭店股份有限公司总经理丁金旺先生,以及绿地控股集团副总建筑师贾朝晖先生。关于对中国高层建筑发展市场的初来者的建议这一问题,顾给出了整个沙龙最具煽动性的发言。

“中国面临的最大问题是怎样更少地建造摩天大楼,”顾说,“即使你有钱,也不能太任性。在大部分一线、二线、三线和四线城市中,是没有必要建造像上海中心一样的高层建筑的。”

参照CTBUH全球高层建筑奖举办的成功经验,CITAB-CTBUH 中国高层建筑奖由CTBUH 和中国高层建筑国际交流委员会(CITAB)于2015年4月联合启动。

CITAB与CTBUH 各自指定相同数量的评委,这些评委将对通过以下描述的过程所申报的项目进行评审。中国高层建筑奖全部评审过程在颁奖典礼和晚宴上的授奖环节结束后画下圆满句号。 在此之前是白天的研讨会,研讨会上获得各类最终奖项和选定的荣誉奖项的获奖者代表将阐述各自的项目。

CITAB-CTBUH中国最佳高层建筑奖旨在奖励那些对高层建筑发展和城市环境做出杰出贡献,以及在实现可持续发展方面取得了最高与最广泛成就的高层建筑项目和个人。高层建筑在其所在城市往往会受到两种相反的评价:可能因其绝对的高度或优美的天际线轮廓而受到人们的喜爱;也可能因其相对较差的环境效能和街道体验而遭到批评。设置这一奖项的目标是对这些重要的建筑进行更全面细致的分析与评价,从而进一步提倡建筑在方方面面表现的进步(也包括对每天使用建筑的人们产生重要影响的那些方面)。